Video games and the violence that happens to be in them

Picture if you will a young boy say between the age of 9 and 10, he’s with his mom or dad in their local game stop. The boy picks out a game and goes can I have this, not wanting to hear the kid wine about not getting the game the parent buys the game, without even looking at the rating that is on the game. The game that was just bought for said child is grand theft auto, the child gets it home and starts playing it. Now lets say a year later the kid brings a gun to school to shoot a kid who has been picking on him. He ends up shooting this kid but not killing him. Once the story gets out the parents end up blaming the video games he has been playing for the reason he did this. Now shouldn’t the parent take responsibility for the games the child has been playing because they are the ones who bought them. Why should the video game company be blamed for putting out a game that helps the creators put food on the table for their family. The parent should take the time to look at the rating and research the game before they just buy the game the kid ask for. They should also take the time to teach their child about what is fake and what is real and that if you do shoot someone in real life they aren’t going to to regenerate, they will stay dead.

Now when I was a kid my parents took the time to teach me the difference, I also spent a lot of time using my imagination and play out side. I didn’t grow up with a lot of video games I didn’t have game consoles. The closest thing I had to a video game was playing commander keen or  math blaster on the computer. I did watch my father play Wolfenstine 3D and DOOM II but I also knew those things were fake b/c that’s what I was taught. So later on in life when I did have a Playstation 1, 2 or 3 I knew that the things I was play weren’t real.

I guess what I’m trying to say its time for parents to take responsibility for their child’s actions and not blame it on something else.

That’s it for me, till next time-E

Leave a Reply

